Document-oriented vs. people-oriented access


In my lecture on the Semantic Web / Web 2.0, which started yesterday, I formulated for the first time how my habits of searching the Web are changing since Social Software is available. My search habits are shifting from googling using keywords and crawling long result lists to navigating through del.icio.us accounts. From time to time I go through my shared bookmarks and check out what others commented on those bookmarks; thus, finding experts on certain topics and valuable web-sites. Web-sites I would not have found via Google, I am pretty sure of.

Of course, this is the intention of such services as del.icio.us, bibsonomy, and diigo, but I think it hints on a more subtle change of the Web. The Web is adapting more to human behaviour. Whenever possible I prefer asking colleagues and friends about topics and valuable documents to searching for myself. Social Software starts offering such a “natural” access to documents on the Web.

[composed and posted with ecto]

Kommentar verfassen

